Here I am again…

…pretty much not where I thought I’d be when I started blogging many, many years ago. I blogged for the first time back in 2005 or so. I sometimes wonder what would have become of this if I’d been faithful to blogging as I am to, say, sleeping, Or breathing. Maybe I’d be up in the Top 100 blogs of all time. Or not.

So anyway, it’s been a long, strange trip. Still living with my brother’s family (thanks so much, Robin & Lainey,) currently substitute teaching for minimum wage (that’s what they pay subs in Paulding County, GA) and working on getting my stuff together to get certified to teach while finishing my master’s degree. What am I thinking?

I’m still quite single. By default I’ve chosen not to date or to actively look for a new relationship. And though there are occasional heart pangs as I see friend after friend (those young and single and those divorced or widowed and single again) announce their engagement or their happy new relationship on Facebook, I’m still not yet moved to even consider it. I have no idea why, because way back when I was a trashy little 25yo, it was the focus of my life. All I could think about was who would be the love of my life? Who would marry me? Who would I stay with forever?

Forever? Hah.

Checking my heart, I don’t *think* I’m bitter, though I’m pretty sure I’m still angry about some things. DWX can afford rent, cigarettes, contact lenses and a girlfriend, but hasn’t paid the pittance of support he agreed to. That would surely have made my life a little easier. Bitter? well, maybe just a little. But I’m working on it.

In more immediate news, in spite of all the things that conspired to keep me from getting to Wichita Falls, I’m here (thanks, Mike.) I got to spend Christmas with Kate and Mike and Daniel and Fiona. I’ve had a wonderful time with my favorite boy, Daniel (who is learning to read!) and Fiona, who I last saw when she was just 7 months old. I wish I was closer.

There’s so much that’s happened since I last posted, but as I sit and type this, Kate and Mike are preparing to go out to lunch all by their big selves, and the sleeping baby will wake shortly and need to be fed and Daniel wants to whup me at Mariocart Racing yet again, so I’m going to hit the ‘post’ button, and leave you all with a “Happy New Year!” to all. I just might edit this at another time to explain the cryptic stuff. And add photos.

And who knows? Maybe this year I’ll post more than three times!

~ by perchance2knit on January 1, 2014.

5 Responses to “Here I am again…”

  1. OK, guess I should follow your example. But when it’s been so long, how do you know where to start? Even more important, how do you know when to stop? So I start, babble, delete and repeat so many times I finally give up. It’s time I bit the bullet, but the difficulty is continuing to do so and staying focused. Suzie, keep it coming and I will try to as well.

  2. Thanks so much for following my blog. Love your header image. Starting anew can be difficult but, I hope things get better.

  3. …I loved that you made fresh bread all the time, you were a great mom and wife! Lots of love, Mary Hoyer

  4. You were always very smart so I wish you the best in school! And you were always very ‘naturally homey’, so your yarn and designs are lovely. Wishing you the very best.

  5. Happy New Year!

    I posted exactly once last year, so you’re three times better than me! And that singular post was on New Year’s Day 2013. I need to work on that and getting my knitting mojo back.

    Wishing you and your loved ones a year of blessings.

I'd love to hear from you...

 
